I am a consumer. I admit it
I am at peace with my nature.
I don’t mind that people decry my tendencies.
There have to be consumers to balance the creationists.

Seriously, if we only had people that created things, whether these things were haute art or common cars, it would be a strange strange world. The piles of unused stuff would be immense.

The physics world has a law which I think applies here. The Law of Conservation and Energy states that energy cannot be created or destroyed, but can change its form. The corrolary states the total quantity of matter and energy available in the universe is a fixed amount and never any more or less.

Thus, someone HAS to consume (destroy) what others create. It is the natural order of things.

In all seriousness, I am a consumer for another more simple reason. I am not equipped to create. I can’t write poetry. I can’t design bridges. I can’t build lawn mowers. I can’t invent new fangled devices. I can use, however, what someone else has written/designed/built/invented. I am a great user. (And, I’m not anti-conservationist. I don’t consume wastefully.) I know this about myself. I know that my place in life requires that I use what others have made. I don’t know or want to know how the bicycle works. I just want to ride it. I don’t take apart my iPod to reverse engineer it for something else. I just want the battery to last for the entire duration of the flight to Kansas City. I don’t understand the inner workings of things. I’m not an engineer. (Sounds kind of like the BASF commercial – “We don’t make the water scooter. We just make it go faster.”)

I’m a consumer. And, I’m proud of my role.

Copyright (c) 2005 Jamoker. All rights reserved.

