I found something interesting over at Cool Hunting. In a previous post I had asked for a recommendation for the next book I should read. The “What Should I Read Next?” website may be the resource I need.

I put in Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk and here is what I got:

The What Should I Read Next? website suggests books you might like reading based on real readers’ recommendations. I searched for Survivor and these were the results:

The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
Catch-22 – Joseph Heller
To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
Life of Pi – Yann Martel
Northern Lights – Philip Pullman
The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy – Douglas Adams
Nineteen Eighty-four – George Orwell
The Great Gatsby – F.Scott Fitzgerald
The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
Cryptonomicon – Neal Stephenson

5 of those books I have read already…which is fine since the site doesn’t know that yet. More importantly, though, it recommended 5 books that I would read. This is better odds than the typical Amazon software offerings. I’m going to play with “What Should I Read?” a bit and see what new and exciting suggestions it can make.

Plus, I have been given an assignment to read Faulkner.

Copyright (c) 2005 Jamoker. All rights reserved.

