My opinion of the “Modern Women” debate?
My take on the questions posed by Maureen Dowd?

Well, I wrote and rewrote my thoughts several times. I wanted it to come across as intelligent, yet fair. I wanted my opionion to be succinct and exploratory. (I probably failed.) But, here’s what I wrote:

I think the women (broad strokes again here) that pushed for equality in the workplace…the “I am woman, hear me roar”…the “anything you can do, I can do better”…the “we choose to have a career, instead of being barefoot in the kitchen”…are PISSED OFF now. That’s my take on the Modern Women debate.

I think they are pissed for two reasons. First, I think they are pissed because they have found that life isn’t as good as they expected. With only a career to show for it, even when reaching the pinnacle in their fields, their lives are sometimes unhappy. Second, I think they are pissed that some women didn’t make the same choice and follow their lead.

Men have one choice. Get a job. That’s it. Yes, a guy can be sensitive and caring. He can be the best husband, father, lover, friend, & confidant in the world (according to the Politically Correct definitions) and still have only one option for his life. No job and he’s just a bum.

Women now have choices. They can pursue a career, to the exclusion of everything else. They can choose to be a SAHM (sacrilegeous to the feminists, I know). Or they can be a combination of the two. Any of those three options are hard. Any of those three options are noble. Any of those three options, when compared individually against the other two, inspire such derision and animosity. But, the bottom line is that women HAVE these CHOICES. Regardless of which they make, they are successful.

The debate is pointless now. The struggle is over. There shouldn’t be any animosity or derision.

That’s as far as I got.

Then, I read this post on the Protein Wisdom site. (Go ahead and read it and then come back.)

Suffice it to say that I agree with the argument of the post. I think that the right to choose trancends the choice(s) made. And, I will be supporting whatever CHOICE my two girls make.

Copyright (c) 2005 Jamoker. All rights reserved.

