Since posting the last Jamoker Job Search installment, a lot (relatively) has happened. Every day is just a veritable rollercoaster ride of emotion and experience.

And, I have recovered from the illness…

First things first…I did go to the doctor. I got a shot in the a$$. It didn’t help/work. So, whatever I had must have been viral, not bacterial. Whatever. A week later, I’m finally over the sore throat. The body is telling me I need to get back in shape…and to drink more green tea.

So, here’s what’s happened…

Early this week, I spoke to the friend mentioned last time and told him I was interested in pursing the “retail” opportunity. My rationale was/is that I can go down that road a bit and have the conversations with the key players. If it ends up being a bad idea, I won’t be out anything. It’s merely networking. My friend is acting as the agent. I wonder if I’ll have to give him some commission…

Then, I spoke with an old friend and former coworker who had made the jump to the retail side years ago and asked him for advice. He tried to put the fear of doG in me and asked me a lot of hard questions. I was glad he did. If his response and attitude had been all about the potential pollyanna and the candyland atmosphere of the deal, I would have been very suspicious. Instead, he made it out to be difficult tough work.

Now, I am waiting for my “agent” friend to set up the meetings.

I had a lunch with another friend and former coworker. He offered up his list of Headhunters Recruiters and I bought his meal. In all, we spent nearly two hours trying to fix the ad world and pontificating about the future viability of what we do. He gave me some good thoughts to ponder. He thinks we do have a future and provided his rational. I left our lunch feeling a little more optimistic about my employment chances. It was a good lunch.

Then, I got the call.

I got the call for which I’ve (secretly) been waiting…for a job I would really like to have. The call was COMPLETELY out of the blue.

The president of the agency (granted, it is a smaller agency) took an hour out of his time to talk to me. He told me about the agency, the client, the people, the future, and the past. I told him I was interested. I was witty and enthusiastic. I think I made an impression. We had a nice chat. And, I will be flying to take an in-person interview in a week and a half.

BUT…

I have to keep reminding myself not to get too excited and to stay focused. I’ve been down this road before and not gotten the final offer. I can’t let myself start making plans…before the chickens have even been laid, let alone hatched. (I’m not bragging either. There’s a long way to go before I’ll think about doing that…)

As I left the office, it was starting to get dark. And, as I was driving home to pass along the news, I couldn’t help but think about how I was potentially in the twilight of my current situation. (Like, I said, I have to keep reminding myself to stay focused.)

The radio was playing…

The first song that played was “Bittersweet Symphony” by The Verve.

Cause it’s a bitter sweet symphony that’s life…
Try to make ends meet , you’re a slave to the money then you die.
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down…
You know the one that takes you to the places…

I hit the [next track] button. Ouch. That one was too much…

Next up was “Lose Yourself” by Eminem.

Look, if you had one shot, one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted…One moment
Would you capture it or just let it slip?

His palms are sweaty, knees weak, arms are heavy
There’s vomit on his sweater already, mom’s spaghetti
He’s nervous, but on the surface he looks calm and ready
To drop bombs, but he keeps on forgetting
What he wrote down, the whole crowd goes so loud
He opens his mouth, but the words won’t come out
He’s chokin, how everybody’s jokin now
The clock’s run out, time’s up over, bloah!
Snap back to reality, Oh there goes gravity

I hit the [next track] button. Geesh. Can’t I get something upbeat?

Next up was “Dreams” by The Cranberries.

Oh my life
Is changing everyday
In every possible way

And Oh my dreams
It’s never quite as it seems
Never quite as it seems

I know I’ve felt like this before
But now I’m feeling it even more

GODDAMMIT!!!!

So, I made a mental note to not listen to music when I needed to think…

I would really like to land this job. Please wish me luck!

