I attended a performance of Mozart's Requiem last weekend. BetterHalf was performing, so I had to sit alone. I didn't mind too much, though, because the piece is one of my favorites. In the row in front of me, and on either side, were several senior citizens.

The performance by the soloists, chorus and instrumentalists was very moving. I enjoyed it immensely. It was sung in the original Latin. But, the lyrics and translation were provided in the program.

At the end of the final movement, the conductor kept his arms up for a beat and the audience paused before clapping. The room was silent…no coughing or shuffling. Everyone seemed to be letting the music wash over them. And then, during that same instant, one of the blue-haired old ladies from the row in front of me turned to her blue-haired companion and said quite loudly, "I don't understand the latin. I don't know where we are."

It was clear as day. It was loud. Surely half of the people in the hall heard the remark.

And, then the conductor dropped his arms and the audience clapped.

The two ladies were the first ones to stand. 

