I started my college career thinking I wanted to be a journalist.

After spending a semester of torture in the “Writing for Journalism 101” class, I changed my major and didn’t look back. The class was taught by the former head of Alcoa’s (yes, the Aluminum Manufacturer) PR Dept. And, he was the Dean of Admissions for the School. He was a distinguished looking gentleman with grey hair and very nice clothes. He talked a lot about Alcoa.

Alas, whatever the bleep he knew about writing for a newspaper, I sure as hell never discovered.

And, since I was the only male and non-blonde in the class, I didn’t get a good feeling that I had any future job prospects as a journalist.
(Nor did the professor pay any attention to me…seeing as how I didn’t have breasts.)

But, we spent a lot of time writing headlines and lead paragraphs in the class. Why did we do this? Because people only read the headlines and lead-in paragraphs of stories. And, believe it or not, what was true back then with writing for print, is still true today with writing for the internet.

So, I have a great (I think) headline.
“Katie Holmes Runs NYC Marathon”

And here’s the lead paragraph:
“Katie Holmes ran in the NYC marathon. Despite the admirable feat of completing the race about a year after having given birth to her daughter, she obviously does NOT know how to wear a ballcap.”

katie holmes

So, how’s that? Would you read any more of the article?

